Twitter feature for removing unwanted followers is available for Web

New privacy-related functionality is being rolled out on Twitter, including the ability to unfollow someone without blocking them. The latest tool, which is now only accessible in its Web-based version, is aimed to provide users greater control over their follower lists on social media platforms.

Since September of this year, Twitter has been experimenting with this feature. The tweets of a Twitter user who has deleted someone will no longer automatically appear in the user’s timeline after they have done so. According to the social media business, followers who are removed by a user utilizing the new tool would not be alerted of the modification.

Twitter’s support account, @TwitterSupport, announced the addition of this new function on the platform, which can be found here. The microblogging business announced that the most recent upgrade would allow users to curate their own list of followers, according to its announcement.

Twitter users have the ability to remove anyone from their list of follows from their profile page on the social media site. To do so, first select Followers from the drop-down menu, then click the three-dot icon next to the name of a follower and then select the Remove this follower option. Your tweets will no longer automatically appear in their timeline as a result of this change. As previously stated, a follower who has been removed will not be alerted of the change.

It’s crucial to understand that blocking a following on Twitter and removing a follower on Twitter are two completely different things. A follower will no longer see your tweets in their feed after they have been unfollowed; however, they will have the opportunity to follow you again if they so want. When you block someone, they will no longer be able to access your profile in any way.

A slew of new features and changes have been introduced on Twitter recently. The company has been working on a suite of privacy solutions since September of this year, and this latest addition is one of the most recent. In a previous announcement, Twitter stated that it is working on a safety feature that would allow users on the network to temporarily restrict accounts for a period of seven days if they are found to be using offensive language or sending unwanted replies.

Twitter has just begun testing a new tool that allows users to get a feel for a conversation before they join in, in order to increase social privacy and prevent harassment on the platform. The new ‘prompts’ tool will alert users before they become involved in a debate that has the potential to become heated. It will appear below select tweets on the site in order for people to take note of it before plunging into the replies to the original tweet.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.