What is a Security Framework? Top 4 Security Frameworks

State and international cybersecurity rules and protocols are included in a security framework to safeguard vital infrastructure. It provides detailed guidelines for corporations on how to protect the personal information stored in their systems against security threats.

Many, if not all, firms aim to comply with the demands of a security framework since it has been shown to be valuable to the whole industry.

According to the Trends in Security Framework Adoption Survey, as many as 84% of U.S. organizations use several security frameworks to address cybersecurity challenges.

Four of the most widely used security frameworks

Every security framework’s principal purpose is to reduce the number of risks that might harm an organization and its stakeholders. Different frameworks use different measures such as blind API controls and others. Here are the most often used security frameworks across a variety of industries:

  • Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) (HIPAA)

Patients’ important and personal information is protected from all types of threats by HIPAA, which all healthcare companies in the United States are expected to adhere to. Physical and virtual theft and loss are among the concerns. Health care providers are required by HIPAA to employ security measures in order to protect electronic health records (EHRs) against cyberattacks.

The Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA) in Canada is one of HIPAA’s analogs. General data privacy protection standards in Europe and Asia-Pacific apply to the healthcare sector.

  • National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

Security measures put up by the NIST can help any American business improve its cyber defenses against attacks. It is a five-step procedure that helps businesses identify, protect, detect, respond to, and recover from security threats. The Core, Profiles, and Implementation Tiers are all part of it.

Protecting information systems is made easier with the Core Tier. Profiles, on the other hand, focus on the organization’s cybersecurity goals, including the assessment of IT department controls. Finally, the Implementation Tier focuses on assessing how much money is needed to implement the security measures that have been selected.

  • Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) Framework –

EU citizens are covered by the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), a legislative framework that governs the acquisition and processing of personal information. All companies that do business with European consumers, operate in EU member nations, or employ Europeans must adhere to this framework.

Most nations and regions now have their own data privacy rules that apply to all businesses operating in their jurisdictions or to their inhabitants.

  • Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI-DSS)

All companies that deal with credit card information, including those who take credit card payments, handle transactions, and communicate associated information, must adhere to the PCI-DSS. To avoid paying fines in the event of a data breach, firms must comply with the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCIDSS).

Businesses in a variety of industries can benefit from implementing these four frameworks to improve their cybersecurity posture. Security frameworks serve as a starting point for best practices in the field of cybersecurity. Other regulations, like the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), must be followed regardless of personal preference.